top of page

People Who Knew Me

Available May 24, 2016

Thank you to NetGalley.com and to the publisher for the ARC of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

Haven’t we all just fantastized about walking away from everyone, everything at one point or another in our lives? Emily’s life has turned pretty miserable (stress from a failing marriage, pressure from her lover, caring for an ailing parent, having a non existant relationship with her mother) so I can understand why she jumps on the opportunity to run away from all of her problems. The problem is – you eventually have to face them no matter what.

What I loved: I thought that Claire was a character who was wise beyond her years, but isn’t every literary child raised by a single mother? Nothing else really stood out in a positive way.

What I didn’t love: The abrupt ending – I’ve always hated books/movies/TV shows that end like that because there is no closure – its just done. You know the story will continue on yet you will not be privy to anything that happens.

What I learned: You really cannot walk away from everything.

Overall Grade: B-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page