top of page

Saving Abby

Available now

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

I adored “Finding Emma” and “Emma’s Secret” by Ms. Holmes and was looking for another page-turner by the author. “Saving Abby” does just that – although instead of wanting to see how the story played out, I was more obsessed with “When is this witch with a B going to just die?” AArrrggghhh!! This almost seemed so splashed together at the last minute and not very well thought out. There are just so many things that seemed inconsistent – is it a big town where everyone knows Claire and Josh or is it a large place with tons of crowds and so many strangers? Why does Millie bother bringing up Jackson? What are the point of the little stories throughout Europe? She’s not leaving a sheep there so what’s the purpose????

What I loved: Derek. He seems like a pompous jerk and you never really find out why he and Abby have issues but he provides some terrific comic relief.

What I didn’t love: It’s a toss up between the name of the book (Hello? You give away what they have in the title??? It could have been better maybe as Saving Claire or Saving Baby?) and how much I could not stand Claire. The more I think about it, I’m leaning towards hating Claire. Seriously – I get the whole high pain tolerance thing because I do that too, but if I am too damn weak to get out of bed and have to be carried around like a sack of potatoes by my husband, I think its time to get myself checked out.

What I learned: Its pointless to have an amazing healthcare system if you don’t use it.

Overall Grade: C

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page