top of page

Everything You Want Me To Be


Available January 3, 2017

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Wow…. Didn’t see that ending coming. Take “Gone Girl” with “Girl on the Train” and mix in a little teen angst from “Dare You” by Megan Abbott and you have this one wrapped up in a nutshell. I was all pissed because I thought I had figured it out but then - wham! Obviously I was wrong.

What I loved: The characters - none are extremely likeable for various reasons, but you feel compelled to keep reading – to push through to find out what happened but not because you like them. I wanted to see who Hattie pushed over the edge of sanity to wind up killed. And that I didn’t care a thing about the characters but still had to find out the who, what, where, when and why (okay, mostly the who and why) that I kept on reading – and that’s what I loved about this book.

What I didn’t love: Some of the deep literary references annoyed me – I never understood or liked Thomas Pynchon (not fluffy enough for me) and I do admit to skipping over some of Peter’s diatribes against Pine Valley (wasn’t that All My Children’s setting?). I will admit though, how Hattie has the heartless spirit of Lady MacBeth is just chilling.

What I learned: $2000 will not last long in NYC.

Overall Grade: B

www.FluffSmutandMurder.com

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page