top of page

If Not For You

Available: March 21, 2017

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Third in the New Beginnings series, If Not For You is probably the weakest of the books so far. It seems like a re-hashing of the second book in the series since they both have the same premise (upper class woman falling in love with a blue-collar man). The anticipated showdown and drama between Beth and her mother, Ellie, never really comes to fruition and it is a real let down. I was expecting Ellie to be more of a witch with a B, but she was all bark and absolutely no bite.

What I loved: Nothing in particular, but it is still a sweet, gentle love story that it expected of Ms. Macomber’s writing.

What I didn’t love: The bumps in the road of love for Sam and Beth were just that – little hiccups. I was hoping for more drama to make the inevitable reunion all that sweeter.

What I learned: People can take Classical Music as an elective in high school?

Overall Grade: B-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page