top of page

Abby’s Journey

Available: February 14, 2017

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

I’ve loved Steena Holmes’ past books (Finding Emma, Emma’s Secret ) and raced through Saving Abby to get to the ending so I was looking forward to Abby’s Journey. I thought it was going to be more of her journey without her mother and trying to navigate life with just a father. But instead, it was a watered down Travel Channel special on the Christmas markets in Germany. A journey not only means a physical trip but also an advancement of a person’s heart, mind or soul. Abby regressed – physically and emotionally.

What I loved: I would have loved for Abby to have gotten really sick while in Germany – it would have provided some drama other than her fever induced delusion but that was completely glossed over and everything was back to Smurfy. Outside of Clarie’s letters (and let’s be honest, I know people who have battled cancer where did she find the energy to write all of them!), I was really disappointed and didn’t love anything in particular.

What I didn’t love: There are some inaccuracies in the novel – Towards the end Millie is referred to in quite a few places as her aunt when its pretty obvious she was Claire’s mother and therefore Abby’s grandmother. Maybe if she called her an endearing nickname instead of by her first name…. While its understandable as to why Abby is so sheltered and immature she doesn’t grow at all during this journey and that’s disappointing.

What I learned: I still wish I had some of those parenting letters to use in my everyday life.

Overall Grade: C

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page