top of page

The Promise Girls

Available: March 28, 2017

Thank you to NetGallery.com and the publisher for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy in exchange for my honest opinions.

As a stand alone book, The Promise Girls is just okay. If it will develop into a series where we have the opportunity to get to know these ladies on a deeper level – there is a strong potential for it to develop over time and become a heart warming series, but I don’t think that is going to happen. The story is too neatly wrapped up in the climax which is a disappointment as I think these ladies have potential to be as wonderful as Ms. Bostwick’s other characters.

What I loved: Hal is a great character. Usually the men aren’t supposed to be the endearing characters in the women’s fiction but his passion and drive were infectious. He’s almost too good to be true.

What I didn’t love: Of course, Minvera is set to be the main villainess from the premise, but each sister has so much buried hurt, pain and trauma from their life that affects all of their relationships in life that it almost painful to read. They all think they’ve dealt with the past but outside of Meg, they really haven’t.

What I learned: More about geometrical math functions that I ever needed to.

Overall Grade: B-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page