top of page

Hello, Sunshine

Available: July 11, 2017

Thank you to NetGalley.com and the Publisher for providing me with an advanced-reader copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

I have a soft spot for Laura Dave and her books. After all, she was the first author I reviewed on FSM when I read “800 Grapes” last year. Naturally, I was super excited to read her latest offering.

What I loved: Sammy is the best and since children always upstage the main character – she is my absolute favorite. The family unit of Rain, Thomas and Sammy is honest, and realistic to how lives really are today – parents working hard to provide for their kids, people trying to do what’s best.

What I didn’t love: Sunny just isn’t my favorite character. Without giving too much of the story away, she’s just too fake; too caught up in how she’s viewed by all and not by the few that should matter. Yes, she gets her head right in the end, but it ends awkwardly and with a lot of confusion.

What I learned: No one has that perfect life – stop faking it.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page