top of page

The Pool House

Available: September 7, 2017

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Tasmina Perry was one of the authors I used to stalk on Amazon.co.uk so that I could get her fluffiest, smuttiest newest releases as quickly as possible. I loved her beach read boinkbusters so much that I was paying almost 3x the price (with the exchange rate) to get my hands on her books. Luckily she’s now crossed the pond so I can get my hands on her novels a little easier which is a good thing since I still love her as an author; just now she writes more from a mystery/thriller side of the summer blockbuster read.

What I loved: The Hamptons are always portrayed in books as a magical place where money grows on trees and the traffic is worse than L.A. so I’m a sucker for books based there, Nantucket, the ‘Bu, etc. The back and forth from past to current day was great – and the twist at the end was a nice shock as well. And the smut scenes – definitely well written!!

What I didn’t love: I never really connected with Jem as a heroine – maybe she was too wishy washy, too mousy, too something for me that I was a little bored with her in the beginning. Therefore I never connected with her husband or Michael and kind of glossed over those passages.

What I learned: That the Great American writers of the 19th and 20th centuries are overrated.

Overall Grade: B

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page