top of page

The Secret to Southern Charm

Available: April 3, 2018

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

I was extremely pleased to discover the sequel/second in a series to “Slightly South of Simple” just simply for the reason that the first book practically ended in a cliff hanger and we all screamed for more! You can’t have a book about 3 sisters not give each one their own platform to tell their story – and Ainsley hasn’t completed her journey either so I am already eagerly waiting for the 3rd installment.

What I loved: I felt that Ainsley grew as a person by leaps and bounds in this book. Having to face the loss of a 3rd family member – it takes so much love, patience, forgiveness, and strength that a person, albeit a fictional one at that, can come out of the experience completely changed.

What I didn’t love: Am I horrible that I just don’t go gaga over Sloan and Adam as a couple? I read a caveman type attitude from Adam and see major issues for them in the future as he adjusts to a different military life. In face, outside of Jack – most of the men in this series seem to have an off-putting vibe.

What I learned: Children can remember even the smallest detail from the past – even when you think they aren’t paying attention.

Overall Grade: B+

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page