top of page

The Family Next Door

Available: March 6, 2018

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

I have adored Sally Hepworth’s books in the past – usually I have raced through them. This one…it took me a little while to warm up to the characters; there were a few times in the first 2-3 chapters that I wasn’t feeling it and contemplated putting it aside for another book. I persisted – and I’m glad I did as I had an opportunity to read a part suspense/part chick lit book that had some strong female characters with a few red herrings, and one terrific plot twist.

What I loved: Each woman faced a demon of their own in the book – Ange it was her marriage; Fran – a unanswered question with lingering doubt, Essie – proving to herself she could overcome the past this time. They were at least upfront with the problem with themselves – if not anyone else at first but then their friendship grows deeper as they learn to trust each other just a little more.

What I didn’t love: I wish there a little more attention given to post-partum depression – particularly how it can creep up months after birth as hormones are still trying to return to previous levels and women may think they have a handle on one stage and be completely overwhelmed a few months down the road.

What I learned: The concept of family has been expanded to someone you care about on a daily basis.

Overall Grade: B

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page