top of page

No One Ever Asked

Available: April 3, 2018

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Sometimes I forget that some states do not have the same laws as we do in California. I’m not talking about guns or pot, but cell phones. I was stunned when Camille had a private conversation with another person while driving her car. I can’t remember the last time I had a phone conversation that didn’t start out with “So and So is in the car with us…”.

Could this be considered a “Christian”book? Maybe – heavy on the church references and Bible verses; very light on the swearing and sex. If it is meant to be, I think it does an accurate portrayal of true Christians and those that are in name only ones. The topics of race and guns are, unfortunately, very timely topics right now and I think Katie Ganshart does an excellent job of presenting all sides.

What I loved: I love that Jen and Nick looked outside of the traditional baby route for an international adoption. I only wish that they could have also looked around their own neighborhood and maybe looked to foster and then adopt a child or two in our over burdened foster system.

What I didn’t love: Camille is not a likeable main character and her daughter Paige is even more spoiled than Camille is so there very little sympathy from me in any of her situations. For her to completely abandon her stance on guns and do a complete 180 does not win her points in my book and in a state like California, probably would have been held accountable for what happened.

What I learned: Color is something we all see, but its how we all react to one another that can make the difference.

Overall Grade: B

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page