top of page

The Yellow Rose Beauty Shop

Publication Date 7/14/2015

I was very lucky to receive an advance reader digital copy of this book from NetGalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

If you are looking for a “Steel Magnolias” book set in Texas, then look no further than The Yellow Rose Beauty Shop. Like the previous books in the series, The Blue Ribbon Jalapeno Society and The Red Hot Chili Cook-Off, TYRBS brings back a host of past favorite characters from Cadillac, TX while letting us get to know the three owners of the beauty shop by the same name. Stella, Piper, and Charlotte are the second generation of formidable Texas women featured in this tale and they are as wild, crazy, and Southern as the main characters of the other books.

What I loved: Agnes – I want to be her when I grow up.

What I didn’t love: How can Carolyn Brown mention Nancy’s brownies, chopped this and smoked that every few chapters yet not include a recipe? Seriously, I would have loved to get to know Charlotte a little better in the story. While she seemed to be a main character, her role within the novel was more of a secondary character. Perhaps she’ll be featured in an upcoming book?

What I learned: You know what payback is….

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page