top of page

Hope Out Loud

I received an ARC digital copy of this book through NetGallery.com in exchange for my fair and honest review.

Hope Out Loud is a companion novella Kristina Riggle’s The Life You Imagined, but this time she is highlighting the romance between secondary characters Anna and Beck. Unfortunately, I read the first Haven book when it came out 5 years ago and had a hard time remembering the story, but luckily it is briefly outlined in the short story. It is a cute romantic story and a very quick read, but there will be confusion if the first book has not been read as Anna and Beck have decades of history together.

What I loved: Quick read and a touching romance – what’s not to love?

What I didn’t love: Nothing felt finished in the book from their relationship, to Anna’s mom’s remarriage, to her turmoil with her absentee father. They are not cliffhangers, but the ending felt rushed, like the author needed to get this book done so she could focus on a true sequel to TLYI featuring Anna and Beck as a couple.

What I learned: I think I would have rather waited another year or two for a full sequel because the path isn’t clear for Anna and Beck.

Overall Grade: B-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page