top of page

What Pretty Girls Are Made Of

Publication Date 8/3/15

I received an ARC digital copy of this book through NetGallery.com in exchange for my fair and honest review.

Who hasn’t had a boss who is a complete bi-polar nut job? Similar to The Devil Wears Prada and The Twins of Tribeca, this book has a little twist to stand out from the other horrible boss stories– the main character actually has a spine! Alison is a great counterpart to Psycho Sally; she pushes back when she needs to and never loses the essence of who she is. Quick, light and makeup fluffy, WPGAMO is the best $1.99 you’ll spend for an e-book.

What I loved: Believe it or not, I loved Sally – the horrible boss! She was so unpredictable with her Sybil-esque number of personalities and I could take lessons on how to be a master of the passive/aggressive fight.

What I didn’t love: I would have either liked to see more of the family internal drama explained (the why, the effects, the consequences) or removed entirely from the story. Either explain in detail why Aunt Farah is a stalker and the motives of why they did what they did, or get rid of them as its confusing.

What I learned: We all have a spine, we just need to not be afraid to use it (for good, not evil).

Overall Grade: B+

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page