top of page

The Middle of Somewhere


Publication Date 9/1/2015

I received an ARC digital copy of this book through NetGallery.com in exchange for my fair and honest review.

Being forced to spend a week in Yosemite, CA as a sophomore in high school with the rest of my class killed any love I had for hiking – not that there was much love to begin with. However, I was able to live out my outdoor fantasy of hiking along the John Muir Trail in northern California by reading this novel. Each lake, pass, and campsite were so beautifully described that it was so easy to visualize as you read along. There was danger, suspense, and a little romance which rounded out the tale of what would be a woman hiking along the JMT.

What I loved: The descriptions of the landscape during the entire hike. I felt like I was in the middle of the trail with Liz. I would have loved to be able to see “that color” in real-life.

What I didn’t love: Liz, the main character. Yes, I respected her not only for staying true to her convictions as well as for her knowledge and love of camping, hiking and the outdoors. Her personality is not warm or welcoming which suits the plot, but does not make for a lovable heroine.

What I learned: There is no way I could ever do the JMT, nor would I ever want to.

Overall Grade: B

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page