top of page

The Good Neighbor

Available 10/13/15

Thank you to NetGallery.com and to the publisher for the ARC of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

I really liked Amy Sue Nathan’s first novel, The Glass Wives, so I was eager to read her next novel. While it’s a little slow to begin, I really developed a liking for Izzy and her elderly neighbor, Mrs. Feldman. I never really connected with her two best friends, Rachel and Jade – they both seem so wrapped up in their own lives.

What I loved: Her son Noah, steals so many scenes as he acts out his fantasies as SpiderMan, a pirate, a cowboy and others. The innocence is so adorable!

What I didn’t love: The whole subplot with Rachel and her reunion/old boyfriend/husband seemed a little glossed over – especially any result/fallouts. Don’t just write that the two characters talked it out – if you’re going to make it a part of the plot, the reader needs to know how it was resolved.

What I learned: You shouldn’t be afraid of your secrets..

Overall Grade: B-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page