top of page

If I Could Turn Back Time

Available: Now

I think I’m getting a little burnt on the whole time travel back to your 80’s/90’s past to figure out how you screwed up. This must be the 3rd or 4th book I’ve read this year with this same premise and I think its getting a little old. Yes, this is a cute novel. Yes, I adore Beth/Elizabeth Harbison has ever written. Yes, I enjoyed reading it but I was just expecting more.

What I loved: Who doesn’t like to time trip back to their high school years to remember the things that meant so much to you that you haven’t thought about in 20 years. I really appreciated the sense of smell/cologne used throughout the novel. Thinking of some of the forgotten scents of days long gone really brought back memories for me. But no Drakkar? What boy did she date in the 90’s that didn’t bathe in this stuff?

What I didn’t love: The ending was a little ghosty/meta-physical for my liking and it seemed to come out of nowhere for no reason.

What I learned: I don’t want to go back – ever.

Overall Grade: B-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page