top of page

Kitchens of the Great Midwest

I’m sorry I gave my opening round vote to Inside the O’Briens as Goodread’s Book Of The Year before reading this amazing story which is also nominated. Kitchens of the Great Midwest is an amazing interwoven tale of so many lives yet each chapter feels fresh and insightful to the main character Eva.

What I loved: 99% of the book! I couldn’t wait to read more and each chapter was a snipit in time perfectly highlighted by amazing food.

What I didn’t love: I’m nitpicking, I know. The thing that bothered me the most was in the first chapter where Jarl is first described as the middle brother with Sigmund one year younger and then just a few pages later – Sigmund is the middle child. Small editing mistake, yes but very annoying. Oh – and I also hated the deer hunting passage. I support hunting for food (not trophys) but I really don’t want to read in detail about shooting Bambi’s mom.

What I learned: Even though I read cooking novels, cooking memoirs, food magazines, its never going to rub off on me and I should just appreciate those who can cook.

Overall Grade: A+

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page