top of page

No Ordinary Life

Available February 2, 2016

Thank you to NetGalley.com and to the publisher for the ARC of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

Growing up in Los Angeles, I had friends in the “business” but that was before the rise of the internet and social media, so what I knew then doesn’t seem to apply anymore. Down on her luck Faye and her children get a miraculous break and a chance of a lifetime to turn their life around, but it comes with costs that Faye is just not willing to pay.

What I loved: The kids were all so accurately portrayed – the hormornal pre-teen, the sensitive middle child, the adorable youngest, that they were a joy to read. While I cringed when Emily went through her lash out phase, I could completely relate as the mother to a teenager.

What I didn’t love: Most of the other characters in the novel were horrible people just looking out for themselves – Faye included. She didn’t think about how her actions would impact so many different people – good people who weren’t out to get her but just wanted to make a life for themselves and their familes as well by doing their job.

What I learned: Always file the legal paperwork…

Overall Grade: B-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page