top of page

Fading Starlight

Available May 3, 3016

Thank you to NetGalley.com and to the publisher for the ARC of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

Wow – those were some obscure Biblical fables to bring out, but they did work within the context of the story. I had so idea I was reading a Christian story (honestly – as long as the plot is good the religion of the characters/author doesn’t matter to me) so I was a little stunned in the beginning but really liked how the story panned out. It was nice to read a story where the heroine’s main regret is that she wasn’t nice enough instead of something she did.

What I loved: The detail in the dresses – I am such a fan of vintage items because of the time, dedication and workmanship that went into every item that was created. Things lasted and withstood the trends and tests of time. I wish today’s society was more like that instead of always upgrading for the latest and greatest because things are no longer built to last.

What I didn’t love: I was left wanting more depth, more detail, more “real-ness”. Living in today’s cynical world, its tough to picture someone who’s just so …..nice…….good. I would have liked to have seen Lauren stumble on her journey instead of being the perfect person all of the time. I know I would have appreciated it more if I would have seen her at least contemplate the wrong or conventional answer before turning to God and being set on her correct path.

What I learned: I still remember more that I thought from all of those years at private school.

Overall Grade: B-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page