top of page

The Wedding Sisters

Available June 7, 2016

Thank you to NetGalley.com and to the publisher for the ARC of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

As I am coming up on my own 20th wedding anniversary, I was excited to read The Wedding Sisters. I was hoping for a mad cap wedding story featuring a mother, clueless father, and tales of love. Once the engagements began I got quite the opposite from the book. Mom Meryl became super obsessed with etiquette and money – it distorted her true nature and caused me not to like her as a character. Hasn’t she read enough Emily Post to know that in this day and age it doesn’t matter who pays for what? Since 4 of the 6 patricipants had enough income on their own – they probably should have been contributing to the bottom line. And why did only the Campions have to pay for the rehearsal dinner? Last time I had checked – there were two other extremely wealthy families involved in the wedding that could have chipped in.

What I loved: Rose, the grandmother, was a beautiful soul who could come with the wit when needed. I thought her backstory was beautiful and touching – it explained so much and allowed everyone to move forward in their relationship. And her little white lie about Polish wedding traditions was adorable.

What I didn’t love: Where should I begin? Every man is a selfish douche in the book (Stowe redeems himself in the end but that’s all about the epilogue and the readers don’t get to see his transition into a good guy). Amy is Jan Brady – always a day late and a dollar short. Her fierce competition with her sister almost ruins the book.

What I learned: Its good to be an only child.

Overall Grade: C

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page