top of page

Baggage Check


Available July 12, 2016

Thank you to NetGalley.com and to the publisher for the ARC of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

I didn’t really care for the character of Rebecca in M.J. Pullen’s first two novels of the trilogy (The Marriage Pact and Regrets Only) and after reading the final installment the jury is still out. Rebecca’s reserved, stand-offish with her supposed close friends, a snob, and in love with one of her friend’s husbands. Not a very likable combination but I grew to eventually tolerate her. Cleaning out her hoarding mother’s house seems like a good enough penance for her.

What I loved: Marci’s blog posts spaced throughout the novel were a welcome addition to the tale. I wish there were a few more of them. The tales of the little purple pleasure maker were rather comedic and had me laughing out loud.

What I didn’t love: I still don’t understand how Rebecca and Marci stay friends with Rebecca’s feelings for Jake still present through most of this edition. Granted, their friendship is primarily a surface aquaintanceship instead of something real (like most of Rebecca’s relationships are), but it still seems odd that they would interact.

What I learned: A few deep holes filled with friendship are way better than a ton of little divots.

Overall Grade: B

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page