top of page

Swimsuit Body


Available June 7, 2016

Thank you to NetGalley.com and to the publisher for the ARC of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

Part of a series yet stands alone for the most part (except for the references to Tish’s mother), Swimsuit Body is a cute little Hollywood type novel. In fact – it almost feels like it was written by an actress trying to be an author. Later did I realize that Ms. Goudge used to pen some of the “Sweet Valley High” books from my youth – that’s where the simple writing style comes from. Its very different from the other books I’ve read from Eileen Goudge (“The Replacement Wife”, “Otherwise Engaged”, etc) but still a cute novel that does fall into the Fluffy Murder category.

What I loved: I liked how the novel dealt with Tish’s sobriety and how she was challenged at the climatic ending. I was able to appreciate the struggles she went through to stay true to her goal of remaining sober even in the face of an extremely difficult situation while maintaining her sense of humor.

What I didn’t love: Since it was the second book, I really didn’t understand her past relationship with her parents and brother and since it was mentioned so cryptically throughout the book, I felt a little lost during those passages.

What I learned: I’m reaching here…but cats and dogs can eventually live together???

Overall Grade: B

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page