top of page

Saved By the Celebutante

Available May 24, 2016

Thank you to NetGalley.com and to the publisher for the ARC of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

It’s a cute, fluffy rom-com that’s heavy on the situational comedy but it has a terrific ending and totally worth the time. I felt horrible that I didn’t even realize it was set in San Francisco until almost mid-way through the book when two characters talked about Yosemite only being 3 hours away (a realistic drive time if its at 3 am and you’re the only car on the road). I automatically assumed it was based in NYC due to the abundance of cabs and PR work.

What I loved: Chrissie seems really immature for someone who is 35 but she has such a good heart that you can’t help but root for her. She does manage to get herself into some serious scrapes but always seems to think of a way through to solve the problem in an level headed manner which makes me love her.

What I didn’t love: Its going to seem really petty, but the words that instantly made me realize I wasn’t reading a US based author really bothered me. I would be reading and then immediately thought – “Brit Speak” when I saw such words as caravan (motorhome or camper), toilet block (restrooms/bathrooms/outhouses), cinema (movies or theaters) and fortnight (every few weeks). I giggled with the knowledge I was right about the author’s origin when I read her bio to find out she’s an Aussie!

What I learned: Calm and steady wins during frantic situations

Overall Grade: B

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page