top of page

Murder Has Nine Lives


Available: June 28, 2016

Thank you to NetGalley.com and to the publisher for the ARC of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

Reading a Jaine Austin novel by Laura Levine is like coming home for me. In a way, it is coming home since it takes place in my hometown of West LA and talks about Paco’s Tacos. Paco’s..the one at the corner of Centinela and Washington around the corner from the old B&B Hardware that I remember from my childhood. Sigh.. And the mention of the Westside Pavillion was just as nice – my old teenage stomping grounds (and home to the Tom Petty “Free Falling” video). I’ve read every one of the Jaine Austin mysteries have moved each and every one. I only wish they were a little longer so I enjoy them even more.

What I loved: A book about my favorite cat in the world, Prozac? Yes please!! The poor darling loses her spunk and hatred of all things with feathers, fine fabrics, and fine silk stockings for most of the book and my heart just goes out to her. Prozac has some of the best lines in these books and she delivers them with perfect imaginary timing.

What I didn’t love: Lance is the obvious choice since he is the oblivious neighbor from hell, but what I really don’t love about this (and all Jaine Austin books) is that food is mentioned in practically every chapter and it makes me want to snack! And the Hawaiian adventure with her parents should be its own book!!

What I learned: I learned things I cannot unlearn about food styling..

Overall Grade: B+

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page