top of page

One Less Problem Without You

Available July 26, 2016

Thank you to NetGalley.com and to the publisher for the ARC of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

I have read and loved all of Beth Harbison’s book and am eagerly awaiting her “Shoe Addict’s Christmas” later on this year. I wish I could say the same for “One Less Problem Without You.” I couldn’t even find something I even liked about this novel to put in my standard review on www.FluffSmutandMurder.com. Instead – here are all of the things I had an issue with:

  1. Why bother including the chapter from Kathy if she never showed up in the novel again? Yes, it was backstory but it seemed pretty useless.

  2. If Leif and Prinny shared the same father but different mothers, wouldn’t that have made the half siblings instead of step siblings? And that makes the rehearsal dinner passage just gross.

  3. Why didn’t Leif live with his mother growing up? The only mention of her is that she was some sort of doctor who prescribed sleeping pills and anti-depressants for Diana but she’s never in the actual story. She would have been a better backstory chapter of a mother’s blind devotion to her psycho son instead of Kathy.

  4. Just one conflict scene between Diana and Leif? Seriously? If she was so hell bent on getting away from him why just the one scene?

  5. If Prinny could see so much in the future, wouldn’t she see her future with Alex?

  6. What was the point of Chelsea anyways? There seemed to be much more focus on her whiny self instead of the two women, Diana and Prinny, who really had more reason/more to gain with Leif out of their lives.

  7. What kind of hospital doesn’t do a toxicology scan on a patient’s blood?

Unfortunately, none of the women were terrific characters. I get that they had their reasons to be afraid of Leif and all he could do but HE DIDN’T DO ANYTHING in the story!! He was all talk, no action and I was just left scratching my head..why?

Overall Grade: C-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page