top of page

Seashell Season


Available” June 28. 2016

Thank you to NetGalley.com and to the publisher for the ARC of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

While child abduction/missing children novels are a hot topic right now – they typically only deal with the suspenseful search of finding the missing child. Very few books deal with the aftermath of the situation and the daily trials of building a relationship between parent and child. “Seashell Season” moved at a really slow pace – too slow for me and I began to get annoyed and frustrated by the book. I had felt like I had been reading forever and had to be at least halfway through the book. I looked down at my Kindle – nope – 27%. UGH!

What I loved: Both Verity and Gemma/Marnie kept addressing the reader directly within their chapters. Are they talking to me? Am I like their therapist? It’s a little weird to be talked to but really never addressed when you first start reading the book but its different – and different can be good.

What I didn’t love: Verity sucks as a mother. I get it – her child was ripped away from her as an infant and she never had a chance to become a mother but I think even if Gemma/Marnie was there for the full 17 years she still would have sucked as a mother. She’s too rigid, too afraid of her feelings, too judgemental, too ANNOYING! She doesn’t accept her daughter as her own person but rather expects G/M to be an automatic extension of herself and is offended when G/M is completely different.

What I learned: Nurture wins over nature – almost every time

Overall Grade: B-

www.FluffSmutandMurder.com

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page