top of page

This is Not My Beautiful Life

Available: June 7, 2016

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

For years I have pledged my allegiance and worshiped at the foot of Jen Lancaster for all things funny, sarcastic and snarky. Move over Jen – you now have to share the pedestal with Victoria Fedden! While the beginning topic of this memoir is not funny in the slightest, Victoria writes not only from the heart, but also from the funny bone and the bitter tongue.

What I loved: In the middle of reading this book, I googled the author to find out if she had anything else published and stumbled on her blog. Oh.My.Goodness. That is one place for some seriously funny $(%&. After reading the book, I went back to the blog and read the TINMBL Reading guide section which had the points for discussion that were not included in my digital copy. Even though I just answered them by myself (the dog wasn’t even in the room), I was touched by the questions and the sincerity behind them.

What I didn’t love: Sure, Victoria’s husband, “Ben” (since I’m not sure if his name had been changed to protect the innocent like others in the book) doesn’t come across as the most wonderful man in the world. For a while I found myself getting angry at him for not being more involved and was really questioning what type of man does yoga every day. Then, towards the end, I realized that the story wasn’t really about her marriage – it was about her life with her parents, half and step siblings, and a multitude of cousins that would be her life with or without her husband.

What I learned: I will never look at a hot dog the same again..

www.FluffSmutandMurder.com

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page