top of page

The Secret Ingredient of Wishes


Available September 6, 2016

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

I admit, I was a little skeptical when I was reading the description…wish granting and secret binding? It seemed a little too other worldly for my tastes but like the delicious pies mentioned in the novel, I will be happy to eat my words. So this wish granting… it is a regional thing? Or can someone from California get in on the action?

What I loved: I loved how the town of Nowhere, NC was treated like a living, breathing thing and described as much. Rachel is a complex character – I would have liked to see some additional passages on how she became friends with MaryBeth, more background, etc but maybe that is for a future novel because it feels like Nowhere isn’t done with this story yet.

What I didn’t love: The book reminded me of the movie, “Edward Scissorhands” in reverse – where the town is so quick to turn on Edward with a mob-like mentality. I cried for almost 2 hours after that movie so upset about the unfairness of society and how cruel and hateful a mob-like mentality could be and didn’t want to have to go through that again. (Don’t judge me, it was the ‘90s). Luckily, I wasn’t an emotional mess after finishing the book – I truly enjoyed it, but some RECIPES would have been wonderful! (Especially the chocolate tart with the potato chip crust and the chess pie. Oh – and the really good one that had walnuts and chocolate. Can you tell I don’t like fruit pies?)

What I learned: I need a wish granter like that – I promise to not ask for material things!

Overall Grade: B+

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page