top of page

The Things We Wish Were True

Available now

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an digital of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

I had just finished another novel about a neighborhood prior to reading this book and it was difficult not to compare and contrast the two. Both had rotating points of view; both had some scandalous secrets, but The Things We Wish Were True was kind of a chore to read. Their secrets weren’t as fun to learn about as the ones in the novel I had previously read. I almost felt dirty in learning about these people.

What I loved: I loved the idea about a smaller, safe program with the traditions of the neighborhood pool, Fourth of July parade, etc.

What I didn’t love: Caliey’s mom seems like a total piece of work. I get that she’s trying to better her life, but how about she stands on her own two feet with her kids instead of always relying on another man? And for her to just leave one of the kids with a neighbor – I just cannot comprehend.

What I learned: I’m never moving – the neighbors I know are better than the ones I don’t.

Overall Grade: C+

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page