top of page

The Trophy Child


Available: March 7, 2017

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

What a joy to have another book featuring DS Joanne Aspinall and her Aunt Jackie! I only wish Jackie had a larger role in the book. For the longest time, I thought the plot was all about one thing and then it turned out to be completely different – like a red herring within a larger red herring. I raced through the book in a little over a day because I was just fascinated with how Karen was a mother. I only wish we could have seen more.

What I loved: The ending – didn’t see that coming at all but I loved how it all tied together. Can’t say more for fear of providing a spoiler!

What I didn’t love: Karen – what a whack-a-doodle! It’s one thing to be all Tiger Mommy on your kid if they have the exceptional talent that is required of a Tiger Mom’s children, but if you’re kid is just average and you’re pushing that hard? Well, you kind of get what’s coming to you.

What I learned: I’d like to think I’m not a Tiger Mom..

Overall Grade: B

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page