top of page

The Nearness of You

Available: February 14, 2017

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Surrogacy – that’s a tough one whether is a traditional or gestational surrogacy. Personally, I think anyone who does it is an amazing person – whether it be for completely altruistic or financial reasons. This book takes it one step deeper – what makes a mother? Nature vs. nurture and all that but this book approaches it in a whole new way.

What I loved: By having each character take the helm of a chapter (or two or more), the insight into each and every side of the situation was presented in a fair light. No one was all evil, no one all good but rather a mix of blacks, whites, and greys – just like real life.

What I didn’t love: It just stops – that’s it. You’re left on your own devices to make up how the story continues with no closure. Its my least favorite way of ending a book.

What I learned: The mother instinct is there, even if if the child is biologically not your own, and can be extremely fierce.

Overall Grade: B

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page