top of page

The Mother's Promise


Available: February 21, 2017

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Third book in a row this weekend to make me sit and bawl like an absolutely little baby this weekend. What are the odds? But I wouldn’t have traded that good cry for almost anything in the world since Sally Hepworth’s book was that good.

What I loved: it’s a book about cancer – what’s to love? Seriously - Zoe’s social anxiety - I had never really heard of it before and thought her will power and plans were amazing.

What I didn’t love: Sonja wasn’t a character a really connected with – even after I found out what she was going through. I got mad when she sent 15 year old Zoe to foster care for a night or two – just because she was alone. At 15, I was staying at home by myself for a weekend (and no epic parties ever occurred). I get it now, she was trying to exert power in a place because she had none in her own life but to enforce that on a child just because you can…

What I learned: More about Crone’s than I ever wanted to know.

Overall Grade: B+

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page