top of page

Sugar

Available: February 7, 2017

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Charlie is not the easiest person to like – she’s very OCD, precise, demanding, and is basically a control freak. She’s pretty likable though – because she embraces her quirky habits and turns them into a positive for her career – sweet is far more scientific and precise than savory.

What I loved: That Charlie was portrayed as a strong woman without being a witch with a B, orhaving to use her feminine wiles to get what she wants. She wasn’t a backstabber, a gossip, or any of the stereotypical women on reality television today.

What I didn’t love: I don’t think the author needed the subplot of the reality show – it wasn’t enough to have a huge effect on the story and yet there wasn’t enough mention of it to make it that exciting.All that food talk and not 1 recipe in sight? Boo!!! Seriously – maple bacon cupcakes and no recipe?

What I learned: I need recipes in a food themed book – I’ve been spoiled for too long.

Overall Grade: B

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page