top of page

The Marriage Pact

Available: July 25. 2017

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

I can easily see this being turned into a Lifetime movie (since they no longer have Movie of the Week on Network TV) with some graceful editing. It would be a great movie because of the twists and turns and a dramatic (yet predictable) ending. As a book, it was a decent read but I never connected with Jake as a loving husband – he seemed as having a need to possess Alice.

What I loved: The concept of The Pact is brilliant - monthly gifts, spousal appreciation, focusing on your relationship and I think that a lot of marriages would flourish and grow from these types of Pact requirements. A lot of times we take our spouses for granted and are constantly worrying about “me, me, me” that being required to take a step back and get away from the everyday would be a blessing (of course there is that whole financial issue of the trips, the gifts, the being sent to Fernley) but that’s why The Pact is for the wealthy.

What I didn’t love: Let’s debate what’s worse – Jake’s desire to own his wife or the lack of drawn out suspense with The Pact. Jake and Alice seemed doomed from the get go – there never seems to be the blissful honeymoon period of when they are enthralled with The Pact outside of the first day which leads to a very predictable ending.

What I learned: I best be answering the phone when the hubs calls.

Overall Grade: B-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page