top of page

The Summer House

Available: June 6, 2017

Thank you very much to NetGalley.com and the publisher for providing me an ARC of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Yippee! It’s Spring and that means that the fluffy summer beach reads will be arriving shortly. I live for this part of the year so I can take my yearly reading trips across the globe to fabulous beaches. For once, I’m not reading a book about Nantucket. Instead, I’ve had the pleasure to read a sweet family tale with minimal drama in Rhode Island.

What I loved: I’ve recently lost my mother in law but it was so touching to see her spirit live on in the character of Flossie. Like my MIL, Flossie is appreciated even when people are rolling their eyes behind her back, a bundle of energy always fretting about small details, and is genuinely loved. While I would have loved to see a deeper insight into her being outside of deciding paint colors – she was a joy to read.

What I didn’t love: Actually, everyone except Sam seemed to keep it on the surface. I rolled my eyes when Paige confronts her child about teenage drinking. Why did you do it? Because I wanted to know what it felt like. Give me a break. And was the shout out to Taylor Swift really necessary? Didn’t think this was a YA book…

What I learned: Rhode Island can be an incredible place for a vacation – but only if you like seafood.

Overall Grade: B

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page