top of page

Emerald Coast

Available: August 1, 2017

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

While I snicker through most of Anita Hughes’ books – I do really enjoy them. When I want to read about the perfect woman on a fantastic vacation to an amazing place I will probably never go and watch her fall in love, I read her books. If I’m looking for a dose of reality – I stay away. Unfortunately, sometimes when I read her books, I have a hard time escaping my own reality (you know the one where logic, money, and real life gets in the way) so I tend to read them with a very critical eye. They are pure vacation fluff and that’s what made this enjoyable.

What I loved: The descriptions of the locations, food, surroundings and people are to die for with the detail that is given to each and every thing. If you close your eyes while reading you can imagine a sumptuous beach, an amazing yacht and even the smells of the area come to life.

What I didn’t love: Let’s just go with a punch list for this one – its easier:

  1. Two of the most immature people who feel the need to express every single thought they have ever had into a conversation definitely deserve each other.

  2. Aren’t food reviewers supposed to be anonymous?

  3. Who cooks dinner every night for a food critic?

  4. When dining with a restaurant under review, its customary to order as many different dishes as possible so that the reviewer can taste as many things as possible, right?

  5. What history did Oliver study when he was in school? San Francisco had a major earthquake in the fall of 1989 during the World Series. A bridge collapsed. Peopl e died. That’s catastrophic.

  6. Seriously – you have to hire a new bookkeeper just because yours is pregnant? How about a line that says she’s not coming back to work? Otherwise, you seem to be violating about 167 rules of the Family Care Act. It’s a few months – hire a temp.

  7. Who gives an employee a day off on the GRAND OPENING??? Someone who would lose her head if it wasn’t attached to her body and doesn’t call her daughter for the entire trip. That’s who.

  8. Ooh – I work 50 hour work weeks. Feel sorry for me. You’re the owner/President/CEO/Founder. That’s what you do.

  9. Who isn’t feeling well (nausea, head, etc ) and thinks..”Yes, I need a cocktail.”

  10. How the heck can a NY Times Food Critic justify using his expense account on a restaurant in Italy? Last I heard, newspapers were not made of money anymore.

What I learned: A dose of reality in a fantasy book may be a good thing.

Overall Grade: B-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page