top of page

Against All Odds

Available: Now

This had potential to be an awesome book. With that title, I’m expecting a struggle, some pull-yourself-up-by-the-bootstraps struggle. It would have been better if it was the story of Kate when her husband died – raising 4 small children and building a successful business without a college degree. In these time, that is being Against All Odds. This is a fluffy story about 3.5 kids who don’t seem to make great choices in their love lives. Perhaps with a different title, it may have been better….

What I loved: Grandma Lou is fricken awesome! I wished either my Grandma or Nonnie would have whisked me away on a trip of a lifetime when I turned 21. While she provides the sage wisdom, calming voice, and is the inspiring senior citizen, I know more about her life than the 4th child (hence why I said 3.5 kids – its like Will doesn’t exist).

What I didn’t love: Do I want to start with how unrealistic it was, or that the 4th child Will is mentioned as falling in love with an older woman, but it doesn’t even get brought up until page 314 of a 336 page book? That’s not a plot line. That’s an afterthought. Don’t bother putting that in the synopsis of the book. Let’s see.. There’s no mention of Izzy being a partner at the law firm, so that mean’s she’s an associate of how ever many years, trying to bust her ass to make partner in a firm that specializes in business law. There are no days off. There are no free weekends to run to the Hamptons. There is no time for pregnancy. But damn, this law firm must pay really, really well if she can throw a few hundred bucks in a drawer for her worthless guy to mooch off of her and not feel it in her budget. I think I’d miss at least $1500 each month. And if Julie’s guy was a true sociopath – he wouldn’t have just let Julie out of his life so easily. It’s a horrible shame, but many abusers never let their prey out of their lives.

What I learned: Don’t get ill in Beijing.

Overall Grade: C+

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page