top of page

Second Acts

Available: September 26, 2017

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

As I get older, I find myself drawn to older female characters so I can relate. My only is heading to college next year so I cannot really enjoy books with main characters in the early 20’s like I used to. I enjoyed reading about these almost life long friendships and their experiences in love, work, and life. I only wish I had first known when the present day story started (late 90’s, early ‘00s) because the references to a Palm and Windows on the World really threw me.

What I loved: Sarah was my favorite character. Maybe it was because she started off the story, but I think the author made her personality come alive more than the others since Sarah never really traveled back into her memories like her friends. She is witty, sarcastic to the point of almost being brutal, and has a confidence in herself that the others lack.

What I didn’t love: Beth had to be the most boring character to me. I would have rather seen more depth in regards to the death of her son instead of her time in Italy in college. I think her experiences of loss and as a mother shaped her into the person she is today and it was barely acknowledged in the story.

What I learned: Friends made in college last a lifetime.

Overall Grade: B-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page