top of page

Good Sam

Available: June 20, 2017

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

So, this is a thinly disguised mystery that’s really a romance novel. Kudos for an original plot, a red herring, a little drama, and a predictable ending. Unfortunately, the book just doesn’t know what it wants to be and that’s where its weak. Since it is not a mystery, there’s no real suspense as to who the Good Sam is. Since its not a romance, you don’t really get into Kate’s emotional bank to find any backstory. How about a flashback scene to finding out at your engagement party? Then maybe I’d care.

What I loved: A book based in L.A. has my heart since its my hometown. Okay so the Westside is my hometown and I probably have never been to any of the places mentioned (outside of Griffith Observatory – I’ve been there..once), I still love L.A. Maybe the author should have chosen a different station

identification number though. Channel 11 is Fox LA and they are usually 4th in the news ratings…

What I didn’t love: Outside of no emotional connection to the heroine, there wasn’t much I didn’t love about the book.

What I learned: How to survive a raging river for when we get more than 3

hours of rainfall.

Overall Grade: B-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page