top of page

The Beach House: Coming Home

Available Now

It’s been so long since the third installment of the Beach House series came out that I was a little lost in the beginning. I struggled to remember past story lines with this home and this installment only added to my confusion. The story was choppy, shallow, and I felt used after than wham bam thank you ma’am ending.

What I loved: Who doesn’t love a good adoption reunion story? The idea was so pure but it just wasn’t flushed out enough. There was no anger, resentment, understanding – just a few stupid comments by Jeremy and then everything was back to normal. My absolute favorite parts were the flashbacks to Melinda’s life in Kentucky highlighting the love between her parents – tears came to my eyes many times during those brief blurbs – that should have been the main story.

What I didn’t love: Where to begin? What was up with the prologue – why was it even there? How about some background on how Jeremy found Melinda? Why bother bringing up Tess and that whole thing if it is quickly disposed of during the shotgun ending? And that ending – while it was obviously leading up to that, the book’s ending seemed forced. It was almost like the author said, “Cool – I’m at page XXX, time to end this thing.”

What I learned: Let’s not go back for a 5th time.

Overall Grade: C+

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page