top of page

Desperate Housedogs

Available: Now

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

So while its weird to get an Advanced Reader Copy of a book that was published back in 2011, this series of now 8 books intrigued me – I’m a sucker for dogs and love books based in Orange County, CA. This series has potential – if the authors can bring a little more of the Texas Southern life into the OC with Caro’s mother and cousin, but I’m kind of on the fence about it right now.

What I loved: It was light, fluffy and murder so it’s a quick read and the characters have chemistry. The plot moves along at a great pace and there’s just enough of a back story to whet your whistle about reading future books.

What I didn’t love: I would have loved a little more personalization about Laguna Beach. Yes , the authors are correct about the amazing restaurants, influx of tourists and art galleries but more personal touches would be welcomed. There is an amazing LGBT community within Laguna Beach – I wish that was mentioned more along with amazing cultural events like The Pageant of The Masters as well as the Sawdust Festival. Perhaps in future volumes?

What I learned: Maybe my dog is crying out for her own pet psychologist?

Overall Grade: B

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page