top of page

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

Available: Now

This wasn't your typical Taylor Jenkins Reid book, but it was more amazing that I expected. I was a little hesitant at first since it was opposite everything I had ever read from her but once I picked it up, I just couldn't put it down.

What I loved: Without giving too much away - its touching, sad, filled with love, and absolutely beautiful. Touching on such taboo topics as inter-racial marriage, homosexuality, adultery, and more, Taylor Jenkins Reid covers each topic honestly, openly and with much love and respect towards those facing the dilemma.

What I didn't love: None of my mixed race friends have ever just hopped out of the shower after washing their hair and put it in a ponytail. I would have loved more of Monique as the person, the child dealing with her dual ethnicity.

What I learned: Tabloids get it right and wrong - usually at the same time.

Overall Grade: A-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page