top of page

These Violent Delights

Available: November 7, 2018

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

I was lucky enough to be able to attend a “elite” all girls high school in Los Angeles – I really hope none of the grody male teachers at my school ever thought of doing something like this. I know it does happen; my heart goes out to anyone who has been manipulated by someone in a power position like this. The way each victim deals with their experiences was beautifully written – each was at a different stage; each was trying to move through it the way they knew best.

What I loved: I loved how three very different women came together to fight the injustice of what happened to them in high school – and that the outcome for a majority was favorable. By showing that being open about the experiences and having a support system there to help, these women were able to show that you can get through even the worst of experiences.

What I didn’t love: The romance between Jane and Ben seemed a little out of place within the story – why? I would have rather seen more of Caryn’s relationship with her parents with the juxtaposition of Eastern vs. Western values and cultures or Caryn try and date someone. Her scars were deeper that she was realizing and that would have made an interesting aspect to the novel.

What I learned: Every person needs to be taught they are worthy so that no one can take advantage of them.

Overall Grade: B

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page