top of page

Good Neighbors

Available: February 6, 2018

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

I’m blessed to live on a cul-de-sac and have terrific neighbors. We’re close – but not too close; just the perfect amount. We’ve had our easter egg hunts, bbqs, block parties, and threw parties in the street just because. The kids are older now so the events that we’re all together are fewer but I think we all seem to appreciate them more that way. Our neighborhood seems to be the opposite of Nicole’s but I think we’re a lot happier.

What I loved: There wasn’t much to love – this book wanted to be suspenseful (what’s going on with Winnie? Is she evil?) but wasn’t. Maybe it wanted to be about friendship – but that fell short. It could have been about her loving marriage – but her husband wasn’t ever really around and when Jay was, Nicole only had more indignant thoughts.

What I didn’t love: I could start with the phrase “I had to let go of my daily housekeeper..” Seriously? Or that Nicole had to use an overabundance of exclamation points whenever she had an indignant thought (basically every other idea). Nicole seemed to only be concerned with outward appearances; having people look at her with envy because she had the “right” life seemed to be a preoccupation that took over her life. While it seemed that stemmed from her childhood with her alcoholic sister – that situation is so rarely mentioned it seems pointless.

What I learned: Adoptive re-homing is a thing?

Overall Grade: C

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page