top of page

The Last Laugh

Available: February 23, 2018

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

While billed as a romantic comedy..its more of a love story. Not a traditional love story, but more of where Jenny falls back in love with herself. I think every woman gets to a point where they want to be seen as more than a wife/mother/career/whatnot – they want to be seen as a whole person – liked they used to be when they were younger. Jenny just had the gumption to make her outside match the age she was inside.

What I loved: My favorite scene (aside her her telling off Phoebe – how I wish I would have done that to some of my daughter’s friends!) is the sumo wrestling dance off. While I can’t do that with my mom now (she may break a hip), I know that I need to have an absolutely silly moment with my own daughter sometime soon.

What I didn’t love: I still couldn’t stand her husband - even at the end, but he’s her lobster and that’s what works for them.

What I learned: I would love to go back to 1991/1992 if I could..

Overall Grade: B

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page