top of page

When Life Gives You Lululemons

Available: June 5, 2018

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Am I a horrible person to say I really don’t remember Emily all that much from The Devil Wears Prada? Its been like a million years since it first came out! While reading this, I just kept remembering of Emily’s line from the movie version where she says she’s one good stomach flu from being a size zero. Oh – those were the days… Seriously – this is a terrific summer read, everyone will have a copy poolside and its chick-lit stuff at its finest.

What I loved: Paul – he’s my favorite character. Not only does my college get a shout out (Fork’s Up SunDevils!), but his midlife crisis is only a diminished sex drive and a sporty new car purchase. He’s a fricken millionaire now, he deserves a flashy, impractical car. And what he does for Miriam towards the end – mind blown and the gauntlet has been thrown towards all of the real-life hubs out there to top it. I am so envious…

What I didn’t love: Not enough Miranda Priestly. She is just not in enough scenes! Seriously – she is screaming for a prequel of her rise to the top. I would gobble that one up in a fluffy heartbeat. I would have loved a little more block back on the Senator but maybe somethings are better left unwritten.

What I learned: How you can go from a stylist to the kinda-stars to an all out image consultant.

Overall Grade: B

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page