top of page

The Summer Sail

Available: May 1, 2018

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Cruising Fluff! And fluff this definitely is as the book skims the surface with the main characters and one bratty millennial (seriously – we’re not equal yet - not until the pay is the same). Its light, its fluffy, it’s a quick little summer read. Unfortunately, it stirs up some memories and emotions that I didn’t want to have to think about. My mother in law was diagnosed with a rare form of leukemia in the summer of 2016, was cleared to go on a cruise in the early fall of 2016, and had passed away from a secondary form of cancer (sarcoma around her heart) by February 2017. I really don’t want to read a series or a trilogy of someone who either is going to find that miracle bone marrow match (my MIL was not age eligible) or die a beautiful death surrounded by family and friends.

What I loved: The descriptions of the island, the ship – absolutely heavenly. Bermuda is more of an East Coast thing (we west coasters can just hit Mexico or Hawaii for our island destination) but I’d still like to check it off of my bucket list some day.

What I didn’t love: This entire book was shallower that a plastic wading pool… No great flashbacks to their college years, no passion between any of the couples, everything was on the surface for fear of bringing up anything remotely emotional. It was like being on the Titanic with a bunch of Wasps.

What I learned: What’s wrong with wearing socks to bed?

Overall Grade: B-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page