top of page

The Last Time I Lied

Available: July 3, 2018

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

No sophomore slump for Riley Sager with this book! Yes it’s a page turner (especially at the end when it finally all comes together), yes its got some great red herrings and plot twists, and yes I needed to get to the end. Did I love love love it? Almost – Emma is a difficult character to warm up to for most of the book but I think this will be an excellent summer beach read.

What I loved: Do you ever “love” anything in a suspense book? Emma’s paintings seem to be my favorite things about the book. Their descriptions are so amazingly vivid, colorful and beautifully written. The hidden aspects make me think of what could be hiding in plain sight in almost all of the great art works..

What I didn’t love: Seriously – what family in their right mind would send their kids to a camp where 3 girls went missing? Who in their right mind would go back as a counselor/instructor?

What I learned: I am not a nature person.

Overall Grade: B+

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page