top of page

Cottage by the Sea

Available: July 17, 2018

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

A Debbie Macomber book is like the hug you receive from an old friend – familiar, comforting, and welcome. You know you’re not going to get any amazing plot twists, no heart pounding drama, no sex. You usually also get a little creative plot and you know everything will work out in the end.

What I loved: Without giving away too much of the plot – I think the idea of an open adoption is a beautiful thing if that works for everyone involved.

What I didn’t love: Seriously? A mudslide? On a holiday? Wiping out the ENTIRE family??? It seems like a bit of an unreal stretch to find something dramatic to spurn Annie back to Oceanside. I would have also liked more from Keaton’s point of view? He is almost too intense of a character the way he is written – almost stalkerish. And a recipe for those brownies would have been a great touch!

What I learned: Some books are just there for an easy, peaceful reading ride.

Overall Grade: B-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page